Random Anti-cerebrations

We arranged for a driver to meet us at the train station and take us back to the city (the station is four hours away from the city where we live). The train arrived at 4 A.M., and the driver had obviously not slept. I thought he might have a hard time staying awake on the lonely road home, and I was right. My task was to keep him awake. I settled on a strategy of asking questions at key moments: when his head nodded forward or when he forgot to steer. About two hours into the trip, I ran out of material. The substantial conversational themes had run their course and my questions fell into randomness (e.g. What were the Soviets trying to accomplish with the Berlin blockade?). He got us there safely, but he seemed a little annoyed at me for keeping him up.

So, what is the difference in English between the word complex and complicated? Life is usually complex, but the last two weeks were crazy (i.e. complicated). I think that the difference is this: complex degrades into complicated when the structure that keeps the details orderly erodes, leaving chaos and migraines in its wake. Maybe I am too tired to write about this now.

A few words about productivity while on vacation. When we left here, I had high ambitions. I planned to complete a few reading projects and to begin a study/writing project. I packed 700 books for the journey (an ESV Bible, Henry Scougal’s The Life of God in the Soul of Man, and 698 others that happen to reside on my laptop’s hard-drive). However, to my great disappointment, I read very little on this trip. Only on the train did I manage some meaningful reading time. Here is a cool Scougal quote:

Love is that powerful and prevalent passion by which all the faculties and inclinations of the soul are determined, and on which both its perfection and happiness depend. The worth and excellency [sic] of the soul is to be measured by the object of its love…

And, to make sure that this post is sufficiently random, here is a picture of Maya and her grandmother (and Hannah) in Chita.

2 Responses to “Random Anti-cerebrations”


  1. 1 Steve March 5, 2006 at 9:13 am

    That was interesting about the Berlin Blockade… I had never read about that.

    I recall once being on Army night convoy… and being and officer I had my own vehicle with my own driver. We had been up many hours and my driver was having a hard time staying awake. I used M&M’s and fruit drink powder to keep him awake… and the occasional verbal incentive. 🙂

  2. 2 The Grinder March 7, 2006 at 8:07 pm

    I gotta try that next time… the verbal incentive, I mean. 🙂


Leave a Reply

