Cold, Coffee Club and… Calvinism

The thermometer reads minus 25C. Add to that wind and humidity and you get some very unpleasant conditions. Maya came home from the ladies’ home group yesterday with a bit of frostbite on her ears; very painful!

The college home group (coffee club) starts in a few hours. I hope that the cold will not deter any from making the trip ‘up the hill’ to where we meet.

As I was reading A Quest for Godliness, The Puritan Vision of the Christian Life, I ran across this famous poem that Charles Wesley penned;

 

Long my imprisoned spirit lay
Fast bound in sin and nature’s night:

Thine eye diffused a quickening ray;
I woke; the dungeon flamed with light;

My chains fell off: my heart was free:
I rose, went forth, and followed thee

 

To which J.I. Packer commented, “…it was Charles Wesley who wrote this, but it is one of the many passages in his hymns that makes one ask … ‘Where’s your Arminianism now, friend?”

Doesn't that make you want to smile?

3 Responses to “Cold, Coffee Club and… Calvinism”


  1. 1 Pilgrim January 27, 2006 at 7:11 pm

    With regard to Wesley’s Hymn: It is one of my most favorite and which has been a tremendous encouragement to me. I have asked myself the same kind of question regarding Charles’ theology and have simply given him room to express his true inner conviction. Maybe, just maybe he has said to himself as I have many times : I don’t know how to pull all this together, but this is what I believe.

  2. 2 Steve January 29, 2006 at 12:35 pm

    That hymn is a great one! It’s even better when sung to some modern arrangements.

    He actually wrote a bunch of great ones. He’s definitely my favorite Wesley. 🙂

  3. 3 The Grinder January 30, 2006 at 3:16 pm

    This post has been removed by the author.


Leave a Reply

