Uncommon Union

On his deathbed (and on many occasions before that), Jonathan Edwards said that he and his wife, Sarah (the lady from New Haven), shared an "uncommon union". He meant that life was so much richer and fuller and better because of their relationship, which they nurtured and enjoyed their whole 30 years of life together.

 

I echo that about Maya (pictured above with Hannah). She is the best for me, and I thank God every day for her love and our uncommon union. She is a stellar wife, and an outstanding mother. I love her. And I am not just writing this because she gave me an early birthday present today.

 

 

To Maya, my beautiful wife,

The fairest and precious indeed,

I will love you with all of my life,

A promise that always I’ll heed.

And thanks be to my benevolent Father,

Who granted this charity to be.

I'm grateful forever for this priceless treasure:

Maya’s uncommon union with me.

4 Responses to “Uncommon Union”


  1. 1 Steve January 25, 2006 at 4:24 am

    Very nicely done…

    …but you’re keeping me in suspense… what was the early gift?

    …and Happy Birthday, btw. 🙂

  2. 2 The Grinder January 25, 2006 at 10:14 am

    Why, Star Wars Episode III, The Revenge of the Sith – DVD Special Edition, of course. Because there are no theaters here, I haven’t seen it.

  3. 3 deann4ik January 26, 2006 at 1:10 am

    hey! i remember this poem 🙂 it’s longer this time 🙂

  4. 4 The Grinder January 26, 2006 at 12:40 pm

    This post has been removed by the author.


Leave a Reply

